A Day in the Mamore Mountains

Sunset from our campsite in Glen Nevis

Sunset from our campsite in Glen Nevis. We settled in a field of ruins. The area was so quiet, the atmosphere magical…

    This is the second day of my first trek through the Highlands. We were supposed to follow the West Highland Way from Kinlochleven to Fort William, but for some reason we chose to cut through the Mamores.  After our day on the Aonach Eagch, we stopped at Kinlochleven to buy some food at the grocery store. Then, left the village and made our way  along the Bà river until Stob a’ Chairn. From there to the Nevis valley, it took us a few hours. The path was interesting and the landscape incredible.

Main street of Kinlochleven

Main street of Kinlochleven, small village East of Loch Leven, Scotland

Kinlochleven

Kinlochleven

Am Bodach (1032m), one of the Munros of the Ring of Steal

Am Bodach (1032m), one of the Munros of the Ring of Steal. I climbed this one in March.

Stob Coire a' Chàirn (981m)

Stob Coire a’ Chàirn (981m)

Steep ascent to An Gearanach (982m)

Steep ascent to An Gearanach (982m). If you pay attention, you can see two people climbing to the top.

Na Gruagaichean (right) and Binnein Mor (left)

Na Gruagaichean (right) and Binnein Mor (left)

Sgùrr a' Mhàim (1099m) from An Garbhanach

Sgùrr a’ Mhàim (1099m) from An Garbhanach

Narrow ridge of An Garbhabach and Na Gruagaichean in the distance

Narrow ridge of An Garbhabach and Na Gruagaichean in the distance

Making our way on the ridge of An Garbhanach and An Gearanach

Making our way on the ridge of An Garbhanach and An Gearanach. Easy after what we had lived on the Eanach Eagach :)

Sgùrr a' Mhàim from An Gearanach

Sgùrr a’ Mhàim from An Gearanach

West face of the ridge

West face of the ridge

Magnificent view from the top of An Gearanach

Magnificent view from the top of An Gearanach

Ben Nevis and the CMD arete from An Gearanach

Ben Nevis and the CMD arete from An Gearanach, who thought we’d climb it the next day? You can almost see our campsite, in the valley on the extreme right, a bit outside of the picture. The next day, we climbed Ben Nevis from the valley on the left straight to the top.

Glen Nevis, Waters of Nevis river

Glen Nevis, the Waters of Nevis river and Carn Dearg (1020m) far away. We had to cross the Waters of Nevis bearfoot, very challenging experience!

Sunset from our campsite in Glen Nevis

Sunset from our campsite in Glen Nevis. We settled in a field of ruins. The area was so quiet, the atmosphere magical…

This is the second day of a three days trek.

First day: What the Aonach Eagach ridge taught me

– Third day : Ben Nevis from Glen Nevis

This entry was posted in Scotland, Wildnerness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to A Day in the Mamore Mountains

  1. Each and every picture is stunning. I’m totally in love with you’re sunset! And thanks for visiting my blog!

  2. Pingback: Worldtrip Blog

  3. apollorose says:

    Your pictures were like a breath of bliss. I enjoy sunsets, but love sunrises. The colors are like a majestic glow of beauty. :)
    Trekking through someplace like this would be heavenly.

    • It’s the easiest thing to do. Besides the necessity to be fit enough you just need a backpack, some gear and food :D I love sunrises too but I’m not awake at these hours of the day usually :D

  4. Gaby says:

    Beautiful and magical!

  5. Deano says:

    Amazing landscapes to explore

  6. missliveinthemoment says:

    OMG! I love your blog! I just started climbing mountains recently. And I’ve been moved by your photos. Hope I can also climb mountains other than the ones here in the Philippines. :-)

    • Orel Engel says:

      Hello Miss! Thank you!! Indeed it looks like you liked your hike even if you totally ruined your shoes ahah. I’ve seen many documentaries on the Philippines and I think you’re very lucky to live there for outdoors.

      Keep up the positive posts on your blog, they’re so funny :D

  7. umair01 says:

    You must have enjoyed it a lot. Looks to be a beautiful place to visit.

  8. Wow…you take beautiful pictures!! I was instantly impressed.

  9. kenneturner says:

    . . . beautiful — well done!

  10. Woman says:

    Wow, amazing and thrilling!! It makes me want to get out there…

  11. Pingback: Climbing Ben Nevis from the Nevis Gorge (Giubhsachan Valley) | Backcountry Tranquility

  12. tita buds says:

    Pronouncing all those place names don’t come easy to me, haha, but I was wondering why Glen Nevis seems familiar. Then I remembered that it’s was featured in a Reader’s Digest book on the Natural Wonders of the World, which I read when I was a child. So beautiful it made an impression on me. :)
    These are wonderful photos. The view of Kinlochleven and of the sunset from your campsite are just gorgeoous.

    • Orel Engel says:

      Glen Nevis in a Reader’s Digest book on the Natural Wonders of the World?? That sounds awesome. I didn’t know Glen Nevis was that famous lol. Thanks for your compliments!

  13. Pixie Gaby says:

    Wow! What an Amazing place! Thanks for share it!

  14. redjim99 says:

    You’re making me homesick now! I’ll be off out next week to do a walk in the Chaudefour Valley. Back in the UK over winter for some Welsh and Highland fun though. Take Care,

    Jim

    • Orel Engel says:

      For some reason the name sounds familiar. Holy COW!! I’ve just check the name on Google Maps aaaand… I did a trek with 3 friends 2 years ago just right there!! We started from La Bourboule and trekked around the Sancy peak and we slept in the Vallée de Chaudefour one night!! It was pure beauty with this incredible waterfall!! I’m looking forward to see your photos. I will myself write something about this trek but I need to get the photos from a friend!

  15. grenobloise says:

    Très belles photos! J’ai envie d’y aller!

  16. rubysongbird says:

    Gorgeous photos and incredible views! I hope I get a chance to visit one day, and perhaps take an easier hike!

  17. Sanjana says:

    wow! The place looks amazing! Did the altitude affect you at all or were you okay with it?
    I’m guessing if I even attempt to visit a place of high altitude, I’ll feel dizzy, forget trying to climb mountains!

    • Orel Engel says:

      Hello Sanjana, it looks high because the valleys are at sea level. The mountains arent higher than 1000m/3000-3500ft, so no risk of altitude sickness which is usually felt from 2500m/8000ft and above :)

  18. valérie engelbach says:

    Anonymous c’est moi, non mais….

  19. Anonymous says:

    Super fiston, il va falloir organiser des rando pour tes adeptes!

  20. Anne says:

    Wow! Just gorgeous! Oh, how I would love to have gone with you!

  21. Orel Engel says:

    Thank you all for dropping by!

  22. Sara says:

    Stunning! Maybe Scotland needs to go on my “to visit” list…

  23. xandimusic says:

    very amazing pics, great!!

  24. oshinn says:

    oh i love that photo of your campsite… what a beautiful place.

  25. cathybok says:

    Beautiful photos and amazing adventures you’ve there!

  26. Robin says:

    Stunning photos! It has been a long time since I last visited the Highlands of Scotland. It is as beautiful as I remember. :)

  27. Thanks for dropping by my blog! You have some beautiful photos of the highlands! :)

  28. Des endroits comme j’aime. De l’espace et de la tranquillité…

  29. adventures says:

    Gorgeous views and challenging adventure well completed! :-)

  30. Melanie says:

    awesome pics. would love to visit Scotland one day, my ancestors come from the Scottish highlands.

  31. Hannah says:

    Your adventures look pretty epic. I love the Scotland pictures!

  32. Scotland is awesome. A bit of a challenge on the spelling side though haha. Greta pics.

  33. Pingback: What the Aonach Eagach ridge taught me | Backcountry Tranquility

  34. Shiv says:

    oh my god! stunning!

Leave a Reply

