Wandering Around Tyndrum: Ben Lui and Ben Oss

Wonderful colors over Loch Fyne (or is it Loch Long? I'm not sure)     After our trek from Glencoe to Fort William, we wanted to go camping again in the Highlands, before the beginning of the winter. We found the perfect location for a two days trek: Tyndrum. Tyndrum is  a small Scottish village that lies in between three little mountains, at the end of the Strath Fillian valley and the beginning of the Valley of Glen Lochy. Not far from the village, behind the woods and the hills, an adventurous hiker will discover fascinating places. One of these places is the mysterious mountain of Ben Lui, and its surrounding munros, Ben Oss and Beinn Dubhchraig.

Encounter with a gang of cows on the way to Ben Lui

Encounter with a gang of cows on the way to Ben Lui

Radiant majesty of Ben Lui

Radiant majesty of Ben Lui

En route to the top!!

En route to the top!!

The shadow of the clouds made me feel like I was underwater

The shadow of the clouds made me feel like I was underwater

We had to pass some steep sections from time to time

On the very top of Ben Lui! Ben Oss and Beinn Dubhchraig on the left.

Here you can see Loch Awe and Stob Diamh and Ben Cruachan in the distance.

You can read the report of the walk to Stob Diamh here.

The top of Ben Lui and a view on the hollow of Gaothach. You can see Ben Oss and Beinn Dubhchraig in the background.

The col between Ben Lui and Ben Oss. Such a lovely place!

Tribute to my boots, they're kind of a part of my body after all!

Tribute to my boots, they’re kind of a part of my body after all!

Loch Oss from Ben Oss. A view on the Ben More area (South of the small village of Crianlarich).

You can actually see An Casteal and Beinn Chabhair that we climbed in March.

Loch Oss from Beinn Dubhcrhaig

Loch Oss from Beinn Dubhcrhaig

A view on Loch Oss, Ben Oss and Loch Lomond on the left-hand side. I think we can see the Cobbler and a small bit of Loch Fyne

Wonderful colors over Loch Fyne (or is it Loch Long? I'm not sure)

Wonderful colors over Loch Fyne (or is it Loch Long? I’m not sure)

This is the best campsite EVER. If you intend to stay overnight in the area I definitely recommend this spot which is the driest miles around. It’s exactly 5km South of Tyndrum on the OS map (Coile Coire Chuilc, next to the Gleann Auchreoch

That’s when the fabric of my boot took fire :)

Happy New Year y’all! Bonne année et tanti auguri!

This entry was posted in Scotland, Wildnerness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Wandering Around Tyndrum: Ben Lui and Ben Oss

  1. peak10 says:

    Wow, I want to go hiking there! Thanks for adding another destination to a long list. Do you need any permits or permission?

  2. Good to see you like my country.

  3. Dave says:

    What rugged beauty! Thank you for transporting us to it. What does “Ben” mean?

  4. Louis says:

    These are wonderful shots. The Loch Fyne picture has all the qualities of a woodblock print. Thanks for sharing your travels.

  5. McEff says:

    great stuff. ben Lui is one of my favourite mountains and one of the first Munros I climbed, way back in . . . . er . . . . .

  6. kenneturner says:

    Reblogged this on Becoming is Superior to Being and commented:
    Wandering around Tyndrum

  7. Thomas Davis says:

    In our country we have lots of sandstone cliffs, but few craggy mountains. The landscape in Scotland looks as interesting and beautiful as the landscape in New Mexico and the land of enchantment. Looking at your adventures through a camera lens is magical. May you go on hiking through the highlands, and elsewhere, as long as you have boots, the strength, and the will.

  8. plaidoak says:

    Wow. So beautiful! I would love to visit there someday.

  9. Wow! Your pics are awesome!!! I’m planning to go to the Scotland next month and you got my hopes up about this area:-) Thanks to you and I really look forward to going there ASAP \o/

    • Hi there. You are lucky! I recommend you to do at least a day tour in the Highlands or Western Highlands. The Scottish wilderness is beautiful. Hope you enjoy your trip!

      • Thank you for your recommendations and I think I can do a day tour in Highlands or Western Highlands several times. Because I’m going to work there for a year not just for short trip. Thanks again!:D

  10. Monica says:

    Fabulous trip, photos, and boots!

  11. Maggie L R says:

    I love the photos, the treeless countryside reminds me of the north in Canada in the North West Territories, another great hiking area.
    Your campsite and campfire make me long for summer. great post.

  12. RWP says:

    Great photos Orel, thanks for sharing!

  13. xandimusic says:

    Wonderful photos, love them! Well done!
    peace
    xandi

  14. kerryl29 says:

    Really love the layers and light you captured in the Loch Fyne (or is it Loch Long? :) ) image.

  15. SL Schildan says:

    Love the colors of the Loch Fyne photo. It is an enchanting scene.
    Cheers!
    Shez

  16. Robin says:

    Amazing, breathtaking photos of some amazing, breathtaking scenery. Happy New Year to you too! :)

  17. elizabeth says:

    Loved that you had an encounter with a ‘Gang’ of cows. Ha-ha. The big question is, who won? :) Actually, they do look quite sinister. So maybe they were a gang that had split from the herd. LOL

    As always, beautiful photos of my beloved country. Thanks.

    • Orel Di Angelo says:

      I said “gang” because with my friend we were happily walking along the track, looking at the mountain, and not really paying attention, until we are face to face with this group of cows staring at us. They were right in the middle of the track, all of them silent and standing still. We hesitated. Should we just walk through or should we walk around them? We tried to show them we were coming in peace and they let us pass :).
      Happy New Year Elizabeth.

  18. These are awesome! My husband is the backpacker in our family and he’s taken our kids; we, as a family, are campers and have had many great times in the outdoors! Thanks for sharing!

    • Orel Di Angelo says:

      That’s so nice! It’s such a big thing to go camping when we’re still kids. I have good memories of it, as I’m sure your children will!

  19. bananabatman says:

    A nice series of mountain shots, but the one featured (small) at the start, and 3rd from last is exceptional.

  20. Good pics Orel, as usual :-)

    You always seem to find good weather in Scotland – let me know your secret ;-)

    • Orel Di Angelo says:

      Yes when I think of it I’ve been so lucky. I had a few hikes with rain, drizzle or fog, but no more than 10% of my time spent in the Highlands (or at least I feel like it was 10%).

  21. thirdeyemom says:

    Gorgeous pictures! I would love to do some hiking there.

  22. asuka11 says:

    Keep doing good work.

  23. Wow, amazing scenery! Take care of those boots! Happy New Year!

  24. Alex Autin says:

    Woohoo for your tribute to your boots! I feel the same about mine. : )

    Awesome photography, you’re reminding me of something I’ve been missing a lot lately….but not in a sad way…in an incredibly excited way! Thanks……

    Bonne année!

    • Orel Di Angelo says:

      Hi Alex! These boots had a very hard life I ruined them. The waterproof fabric is died many months ago. The sol is broken and ripped on the front because of the crampons.. buuut I like them and I keep them for summer times! I’ve been missing the mountains too! But the more we want to go, the better it’ll be when we are there :D

  25. beingouthere says:

    Loved the “radiant majesty…” photo and yr comment about feeling like being underwater. Scotland seems really nice! By the way, wish you an adventurous and thrilling 2012 !

    • Orel Di Angelo says:

      Thanks out there! As Paul says below I was very lucky to have such a good weather on my trips. May 2012 be full of good hikes for you too.

  26. Miles says:

    Absolutely breathtaking views! :-)

  27. Sanjana says:

    your campsite does look cosy! :)
    And looks like you had a fantastic time! Lovely pictures, as usual!

    Hope you have a fantastic new year filled with love, happiness and of course, travel! :)

    • Orel Di Angelo says:

      I had a fantastic time on that day that’s true, but the next day was hell on Earth. I’ll write about it soon :D. Thanks and Happy new year to you too Sanjana!

  28. Debra Kolkka says:

    This is so beautiful! I would love to visit this area.

Leave a Reply

